CLA Online Coaching Program

Canadian Lacrosse Foundation

Robertson Cup - (Sr. - WF)

The Robertson Cup first came into existence in July of 1978 when it was first awarded to the Champions at the first National Tournament for girls box lacrosse held in White Rock, B.C.

The White Rock Titans club gathered together a hardworking committee and secured G&B Sports as one of the major sponsors. It was this enterprising company that donated the trophy. Bonnie Allen of G&B Sports contacted Dorothy Robertson to ask if the trophy could be named for her as emblematic of women who are involved, participating and working for lacrosse.

The Cup was awarded to the National Girls Box Lacrosse Champions in 1978 in White Rock, 1979 in Nova Scotia, 1980 in Montreal, 1981 in Hamilton and 1982 in Mississauga.

With Canada' participation at the first World Cup for women's lacrosse in Nottingham, England in 1982, the emphasis and interest shifted from the box game to the international field game for women.
The Robertson Cup has been awarded annually since 1983 to the Canadian Senior Women's Field Lacrosse National Champions.

This is formerly the G and B Sports Club Trophy used for Women's "Box Lacrosse" from 1978-82.

The overall tournament championship was won by the USA from 1983-85.

CLA Bi-Monthly Newsletter

Newsletter Sign-Up

Enter the text above:

Club Excellence Program

CLA Calendar of Events